Fredrik Kronkvist MONK VIBES

Fredrik Kronkvist – MONK VIBES feat. Jason Marsalis, Reuben Rogers & Gregory Hutchinson


New Album Out feb 25, 2015!
Alto saxophonist Fredrik Kronkvist releases album with Thelonious Monk’s music along with three American superstars.

When Kronkvist releases his new album MONK VIBES he continues cooperate with some of the hottest names on the jazz scene with Jason Marsalis on vibraphone, Reuben Rogers on bass and Gregory Hutchinson on drums. This time they dedicate themselves to interpret the genius composer Thelonious Monk’s music and spirit.

“I played with drummer and vibraphonist Jason Marsalis for the first time at Copenhagen Jazz Festival when Jason was flown in to replace drummer Antonio Sanchez. We hit it off immediately and after a few tours and an album later the idea was born to record Monk’s music with Jason on vibes, “says Fredrik.

Fredrik started his collaboration with Reuben Rogers, Gregory Hutchinson and pianist Aaron Goldberg in New York. From the first note there was a strong intuitive communication between these great musicians and they have released two acclaimed albums New York Elements (2012) and Reflecting Time (2014).


With Reuben Rogers and Gregory Hutchinson joining the band the idea of playing Monk’s music with Jason on vibraphone could blossom and become a reality. The unusual constellation with alto saxophone, vibraphone, bass and drums create a different, challenging sound without the piano and gives the group wide open spaces for colorful improvisations

MONK VIBES reflects Thelonious multidimensional universe where simplicity and complexity come together in a beautiful, danceable and contrasting music.

The album contains wild conversations, humor, calypso beat, odd time signatures, blues, beautiful ballads and a tonal language that sounds as skewed as obvious

Fredrik_Kronkvist_Monk_Vibes_7_Band_Studio_bw1 Skippy
2 Misterioso
3 Teo
4 Brilliant Corners
5 Trinkle Tinkle
6 Round Midnight
7 Evidence
8 Kronk’s Monk
9 Four in One
10 The Virtue of Patience

All tracks by Thelonious Monk except tr.8 by Fredrik Kronkvist and tr.10 by Jason Marsalis


Release Tour in March:
3 Västerås/jazzens vänner
4 Stockholm/Fasching
5 Uppsala/Katalin
6 Höör/Höör Jazz
7 Lund/Mejeriet 13.00
7 Köpenhamn/Montmartre 20.00
9 Varberg/Jazzcorner
10 Malmö/Palladium
11 Växjö
12 Helsinborg/Jazz i Helsingborg

Line-Up: Fredrik Kronkvist – alto sax, Jason Marsalis – vibraphone, Martin Sjöstedt – bass, Daniel Fredriksson – drums